One Long Night

In my lonely bed I lay

At night, ’twas only yesterday

Thoughts ’till then I’d held at bay

Came rushing to my mind

‘Twas yanked from slumber’s gentle hands

Into my own mind’s churning lands

Of scorching heat and twisting sands

A venue most unkind

I rose, and soon was standing

Per my cranium’s commanding

As, my short sleep notwithstanding,

I’d been unable to unwind

As my mind continued racing

My legs were compelled to pacing

I don’t know what they were chasing

Perhaps some peace they hoped to find

As the rising sun came creeping

I realized I ought be sleeping

Though my mind was not in keeping

My hope for sleep had not resigned

So I settled into bed

Heart still pounding, eyes blood red

And as I cursed my roaring head

My head cursed me too, in kind

Leave a Reply

