Reminevanescence

When I was a boy, I feared Him

I prayed that I never would near Him 

I thought of him little

Before my bones turned brittle

And now, oh, how I revere Him!

I never thought, back in the day

There’d come a time when I would pray

For a somnolent visit

From a Spectre exquisite

So that he might take me away 

Life is not kind to the weary

My once wild eyes have grown dreary

It’s said the aged man

Walks with Him hand in hand

And now, I can see it quite clearly

So go now, leave me to my fate,

This is goodbye, at any rate

Though I’ll be doomed soon

I must groom and perfume 

With the Reaper I’m scheduled a date 

Leave a Reply

