The Shade

Under the shade of the grand Elm tree
You danced your final dance with me 
We laughed, we played, we felt so free
Under the shade of the grand Elm tree
Under the light of the dim setting Sun
We danced until the day was done
No you, no I, we were as one 
Under the light of the dim setting sun 
Under the gaze of the twinkling stars
I sang you a song as I played my guitar
And my fleeting love song reached its final bars
Under the gaze of the twinkling stars 
In the dark night, when nothing was woken 
You dreamed lovely dreams of the words I had spoken
On that fateful night, when first we were bespoken 
In the dark night, when nothing was woken
As the night turned to a bright new dawn
You awoke from your sleep, you awoke with a yawn 
You awoke and were startled to see I was gone 
As the night turned to a bright new dawn
As the sky lightened and turned into day
You wept heavy tears because I couldn’t stay 
You stayed by the tree, and you wasted away
As the sky lightened and turned into day
Under the shade of the grand Elm tree
My mortal soul was finally set free
And into the night my spirit did flee
Cut loose of the shackles of mortality
And you soon did join me in eternity
And so forever more I’ll be dancing with thee
And I loved you, and you loved me
Under the shade of the grand Elm tree

Leave a Reply

