Blissful Silence

I saw a man who spoke with his smile. 

And it told me to be happy, 

And that there was nothing to worry about, 

And that everything would be okay. 
And I liked what the smile told me

And so I believed it 

And I was happy

And I didn’t worry 

But then I looked at the man once more. 
I saw a man

who sighed with his brow. 

And the sigh was one of exhaustion,

And it sounded of sorrow,

And it interrupted his smile. 
But I liked his smile 

So ignored the sigh 

And I kept listening to his smile

And I was happy 

And I didn’t worry 

But then I heard something dreadful

And I looked at the man in shock 
I saw a man 

who screamed with his eyes. 

And they cried out for help,

And they begged me to listen,

But despite their volume,

they were drowned out by his smile. 

 

And I recoiled in horror 

And I covered my ears 

But still I heard the screams

And in hopes of solace

I looked at the man once more

And I looked for his smile 
But this time, I saw a man 

who lied with his smile. 

And it told me that he was happy,

And it said there was nothing to worry about, 

And that everything was okay. 
And I knew now the smile was lying 

So I ignored it

And I knew his brow 

Spoke the truth,

And that the pleas of his eyes

Were urgent. 
I knew this man for many months more

And I went through the darkest of times

with him. 

Until one day

I heard nothing. 

And I looked at him again

and his brow wasn’t sighing

And his eyes were silent 

And I saw a man

Who thanked me with his smile. 

Leave a Reply

